Tavistock Repertory Guarantors Limited (Tower Theatre) AGM 2019-20

The Tower Theatre AGM for the year 2019/2020 took place on Tuesday 12th January via Zoom. This was delayed from last autumn in the hope that if we waited we might have been able to hold the meeting in person in the theatre, government restrictions having been lifted. Unfortunately, this was not possible and in order to meet the statutory requirement to hold an AGM within 15 months of the last one the meeting was held on Zoom, with about 60 members attending.

Nick Insley presented the financial report which showed a very satisfactory position considering the ongoing issues regarding closure. Helped by grants, legacies and astute management, the Company had made a modest operating profit for the year ending July 31st 2020, and had been able to complete some improvements to the building, notably the installation of a lift .

Martin Mulgrew reported that the productions that had taken place in the theatre during the earlier part of the year had all been successful, and he praised the team that had mounted the series of “Virtual Tower” events that have run since last March’s lockdown.

Martin Mulgrew, Nicola Stanhope and Laurence Tuerk were elected to the Board, and Ciara Robley and Jacqui Dickson to the Management Committee. Details of the new teams are here.

The Frank Smith Award was presented (virtually) to Matthew Ibbotson, and John Chapman received the Harold Mellor Award. Alison Liney was granted Life Membership of the Company.

Helena Cashmore
Helena Cashmore, Chair of the Board, chaired the meeting
Nick Insley
Nick Insley, Financial Director, presented highlights from the Company’s Annual Report and Accounts
Martin Mulgrew, outgoing Artistic Director, reviewed the past year.
David Taylor
David Taylor, Chairman of the Management Committee, described the recent improvements to the building and the measures taking place to ensure that the theatre can re-open safely when permitted to do so

The new Management Committee met after the AGM and appointed Peter Foster as their Chairman for the coming year.